Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

[Replies: 6]
Hello everyone.

I am writing this because yesterday I have seen on my 13 year old son's Hi5 page under the "about me" section that there is a link to "sexplaycam.com" with a picture of a naked woman... I went to the site and saw that you have to register to become a member of, now I am worried my son has joined this site.

I asked my son if he'd put the link there and he said he had no idea it was there, and went on his profile & deleted it. I know it is awful but I am still suspicious. I also have Hi5 & the "about me" parts etc can only be filled in by the person who owns the profile, right? But he swears he didnt know it was there and it must have been put there by someone else.

So anyone out there with technical knowledge, please tell me if this kind of thing is possible??

Thanks
Last Post Mar 26, 2008 10:24 AM by: Maureen
Maureen
Posts: 667
Registered: 6/13/07
(7 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 26, 2008 10:24 AM
Hi WorriedMum, Yes, most Hi5 members can easily delete code without technical help. It's pretty easy to see what code needs to be removed, and most people with experience creating online profiles can do it themselves.

All the best,

Maureen

~
Maureen Kochan
ConnectSafely forum manager
WorriedMum
Posts: 3
Registered: 3/23/08
(6 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 25, 2008 8:45 AM
Hello again everyone.
Sorry to keep questioning but something occurred to me - if my son managed to delete the info from his profile, surely that means he put it there himself?? If it was "malicious code" inserted by hackers does that mean he wouldn't be able to get rid of it without technical help?

Thanks again Maureen and everyone.
WorriedMum
Posts: 3
Registered: 3/23/08
(5 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 24, 2008 10:23 AM
Thank you so much everyone for your help. I'm sure you can understand that at first it looked very bad to me, but I didn't want to accuse my son or tell him off before I was sure. Good thing I didn't now. Thanks again.
Maureen
Posts: 667
Registered: 6/13/07
(4 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 24, 2008 10:04 AM
WorriedMum, Our contact at Hi5 replied:

"This was a spam attack on hi5 members. A hacker inserted malicious code into profiles that either were 'phished' for email and password or clicked a link on a spam profile. We patched the vulnerability last Wednesday and will be cleaning out the innocent member profiles. Please have this member write us at help@hi5.com so we can arrange to repair the profile."

Also, WorriedMum, check out this link for info on how to protect your computer from phishers and hackers.

Please contact us at admin@connectsafely.org in a week or so if you don't hear back from Hi5.

All the best,

Maureen

~
Maureen Kochan
ConnectSafely forum manager

Anne
Posts: 507
Registered: 6/26/06
(3 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 24, 2008 6:17 AM
WorriedMum, I think it's quite possible your son's leveling with you, but let us put your question to our contact at Hi5 and get back to you with an answer from "the horse's mouth," ok? Just give us a day or so. Thanks and best,
Anne
--
Anne Collier
ConnectSafely co-director
tmtyler357
Posts: 1
Registered: 3/23/08
(2 of 7)

Re: Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 23, 2008 8:25 PM
Well. I like to think of myself as someone that knows quite a bit about computers. I know for a fact that only people with the password can edit these websites (for Myspace and most others anyway). This should apply to other social networking websites. Maybe he gave his password to friends. I know of people who do it quite a bit (not a great idea). So the only way I know of how it may have happened was that someone else had his password and logged in as him or he did it himself and just isn't telling you about it (no offense).

I hope that helps you.
WorriedMum
Posts: 3
Registered: 3/23/08
(1 of 7)

Anyone who knows about webpages please help!

Mar 23, 2008 2:03 PM
Hello everyone.

I am writing this because yesterday I have seen on my 13 year old son's Hi5 page under the "about me" section that there is a link to "sexplaycam.com" with a picture of a naked woman... I went to the site and saw that you have to register to become a member of, now I am worried my son has joined this site.

I asked my son if he'd put the link there and he said he had no idea it was there, and went on his profile & deleted it. I know it is awful but I am still suspicious. I also have Hi5 & the "about me" parts etc can only be filled in by the person who owns the profile, right? But he swears he didnt know it was there and it must have been put there by someone else.

So anyone out there with technical knowledge, please tell me if this kind of thing is possible??

Thanks